TREE HUGGER!!!!

So there’s this new place in Austin, Texas called In.gredients.  It’s a project in how we shop for our groceries.  Everything here is in bulk – and by bulk I do not mean 400 rolls of toilet paper at Sam’s – I mean large containers where you scoop out or dispense what you need (or someone does it for you).  One of the goals is to reduce wasted packaging materials down to nothing.  See, you bring your own containers from home, purchase only the amount you want to purchase, and then go pay.  Kinda nifty.  I can see where it would be a hassle in the beginning to completely retrain yourself in how you buy groceries but what a benefit it would be to not have all that garbage. 

I don’t know all of the details and I’m sure greater minds than mine have been thinking all of this through, but how stinkin’ cool!  Remember the hot dog/bun delima?  Yeah, now you just buy the number of dogs and buns you need, no sneaky leftover stuff because the hot dog maker and the bun maker couldn’t decide on a balanced number to sell.  (I fondly remember the scene in “Father of the Bride” with Steve Martin having a hot dog/bun meltdown in the supermarket.  Superfluous buns!)

I’m sure it’s not perfect, but what a fantastic step in the right direction.  Way to go, Austin, you rock!

6 thoughts on “TREE HUGGER!!!!

  1. You might be interested in the Mennonites use of bulf foods. They actually have a theological perspective on the issues of sustainability and hunger.

  2. Before I post the reply I came here to post, I want to tell you that clicking on ‘reply’ brought up an ad for Ball Park Frank coupons. Coincidence?

    Anyway, I love this idea! I nearly always take canvas bags with me to the store to keep from using the plastic ones. Taking my own containers is the next logical step. How do they keep from charging you for the weight of your container, I wonder. Now that the hot dog / bun problem has been solved, I wonder how I could go about making the milk and the cereal come out even.

  3. Ok, I’m kind of a dumbass, I had no idea that it was necessary for me to approve comments before they posted. But can you imagine my delight in seeing that there were actual comments to approve? It’s awesome!

    Nan, I’d love to hear more about the Mennonite view on this.

    Jeanne, That’s gotta be a google thing. And I’m sorry there were pop ups. I promise to look into the functionality of WordPress to see what I can do about that.

  4. Mel, hon, I wasn’t complaining about the pop-up – I thought it was interesting that the ad was for hot dogs when you had referred to hot dogs in your post.

    I get it about the weighing your container first thing. The whole idea is scathingly brilliant.

Leave a Reply

